Disable lights with pushbutton?

• Hi.

I'm wondering if there's a way to disable the LED strip using a simple pushbutton connected to the GPIO?
    I'm waiting for the LED strip currently, going to set up a HDMI-input ambilight with the standard raspberry-grabber-hdmi splitter-hdmi converter combination.
    I saw there are plugins for Kodi etc for this, but no standalone options.

• I'm very new to the raspberry and not a coder at all (much better at messing with the hardware than the software).. Do you have an example? I tried digging around some already, but all the tutorials seem to require decent coding knowledge and only give parts of the needed info, not a "from scratch" approach.

• Offizieller Beitrag

things to search for: find out how to trigger a script with pushing a button on the gpio pins and then trigger 2 scripts... for example set all leds to black with hyperion-remote -c black and the second would be clear the message with hyperion-remote --clearall

• if you're a smart phone user, your could create and save 2 ssh commands:

Code
    sudo systemctl start hyperion.service

and

Code
    sudo systemctl stop hyperion.service

Im on iOS and use the native 'shortcuts' app to do just this, i then have these SSH scripts set as two widgets on my smartphone that are quick to access.

• Ok, I managed to hack together a solution.

This goes in /usr/local/bin/ as hyper-switch.py.
    sudo chmod +x /usr/local/bin/hyper-switch.py

This goes in /etc/init.d/ as hyper-switch.sh
    sudo chmod +x /etc/init.d/hyper-switch.sh

Finally run
    sudo update-rc.d hyper-switch.sh defaults

Reboot.

Connect a pushbutton between pin 5 (GPIO3) and GND.
    Pressing the button will toggle between setting the LED strip to all black and resuming normal operation.

The code and info is mostly bits and pieces I found online and adjusted to fit my needs.. it seems to work fine so far.

• if you're a smart phone user, your could create and save 2 ssh commands:

Code